About the Bendigo Electorate


Bendigo is made up of a diverse collection of small villages like Newstead and beautiful towns like Castlemaine, Heathcote and Kyneton; and the regional city of Bendigo.

It is a vibrant region with a proud history and exciting future.

The division of Bendigo was created in 1901 at Federation. It covers an area of approximately 5285 square kilometres and provides the southern gateway to the Murray Darling basin.

Lisa Chesters is the 16th person, and first woman, to be elected to represent the seat of Bendigo.

Former members of Parliament include the Honourable John Arthur,  the Honourable David Kennedy and former Victorian premier, the Honourable John Brumby.

Bendigo shares boundaries with the division of Nicholls to the north, Mallee to the west, Ballarat to the south and McEwen to the east.



Do you live in the Federal electorate for Bendigo?

Click here to find out




Jacinta Allan, Member for Bendigo East

Maree Edwards, Member for Bendigo West

Mary-Anne Thomas, Member for Macedon



City of Greater Bendigo Council

Macedon Ranges Shire Council

Mount Alexander Shire Council